Monthly Archives: August 2010

Commission appointments completed!

Wisconsin flagWith the announcement yesterday by Governor Jim Doyle that he is appointing Kelly Burger, Duana Bremer and Deedee Rongstad to the Commission, we now have our full complement of 17 board members. Last week, Speaker Mike Sheridan announced the Wisconsin Assembly’s appointment of Marvin Wopat to the Commission.

Here is a quick summary of the new members (more information will be added shortly to our Biographies page):

By Speaker Sheridan

  1. Marvin Wopat (Rock County Board of Supervisors and vice-chair of the county’s Criminal Justice Collaborating Council)

By Governor Doyle

  1. Duana Bremer (Administrative Director for the Salvation Army serving Polk, Burnett and St. Croix Counties)
  2. Kelly Burger (Executive Director for Center Against Sexual and Domestic Abuse in Douglas County)
  3. Deedee Rongstad (Development and Information Director for Legal Action of Wisconsin)

ABA acts on civil right to counsel

The ABA House of Delegates voted on Tuesday to adopt two key documents supporting a limited statutory civil right to counsel for the poor in cases where basic human needs are at stake. One of the resolutions was a set of principles that could serve as a guide as states approach this issue. The secondContinue Reading